FiftyCrows Blog

Social Change Photography

Photo Fund Winner Update: Victor Sira

leave a comment »

As an immigrant himself from Venezuela, IFDP winner Victor Sira focuses his work on other immigrants in the United States, Latin American and Europe. His winning photo essay for FiftyCrows, Uprooted, showed the fragmented existence of Latin American immigrants who travel and establish a livelihood in the US. Sira states that: receiving the IFDP grant in 2002 from the FiftyCrows Foundation was a tremendous help during financially difficult time. In a more fundamental way, though, the IFDP grant gave me the confidence to experiment, to take risks, to take my ideas and run with them. For that I’m most grateful.

Sira_03.webSira-10.web

Sira goes on to discuss his most recent work and how it has evolved from the time that he was in school until the present. He continues to look at the state of immigration in a series about border crossing in Europe and the United States. Using both film and video, his interest in film-making has grown out of fifteen years of work.

01_© Victor Sira_Calais 200302_© Victor Sira_ Spain2005

At the age of twenty-two, while studying at the International Center of Photography in New York City in 1992, I began my first documentary project. I photographed different immigrant experiences in New York City. I continued to photograph extensively for several years, in the United States, Latin America and Europe.

A close examination of my works produced during the pass years led me to re-evaluate my entire photographic approach. In considering my work—all still images—I came to realize that I wanted to capture movement and sound building upon and improving on my previous photography efforts. I began to envision a new project that would record fragments of reality containing a range of human emotions such as pain and isolation to examine the social, political, and historical burdens of the people and landscapes that I had photographed years before.

I realized that video as the ideal medium for this new project. During the summer of 2006, with the support of a fellowship from the Guggenheim Foundation, I began the initial research for the project and wrote the first draft of the treatment for the film that would be based on my own experiences photographing immigrants along the border in the United States and Europe.

03_© Victor Sira_ MOLDOVA 2000504_© Victor Sira_ Arizona 2007

Three short films from a serie about the border will be showing at “THE ELECTRONIC ART AND VIDEO FESTIVAL, TRANSITIO_MX 03” in Mexico City at the beginning of October.

www.victorsira.com

Written by Zara Katz

September 2, 2009 at 5:36 pm

Leave a Reply

